Story of pianist Robby


I am a former school music teacher from the village Moines, Iowa. I got a living by teaching piano for over 30 years. During that time, I found that children have different levels of musical ability. But I never felt he had to help although I have taught some talented students. However, I want to talk about students who “musically challenged”. An example is Robby.

Robby was 11 years old, when his mother put him in lessons for the first time. I prefer that students (especially boys) begin at an earlier age, which I explained to Robby. But Robby said, her mother always wanted to hear him play the piano. So I took him as a student.

Robby started piano lessons and from the beginning I thought there was no harapan.Robby tried, but he did not have a sense of tone and basic rhythm that need to be studied. But he really learn scales and some of my early lessons compulsory for all students learn.

For several months, he tried to continue and I listened and cringed and tried to encourage him. Each end of his weekly lessons, he said, “my mother would hear me play one day.”

But it’s futile. He was not capable of since birth. I only know her from afar when lowering or pick Robby Robby. He just smiled and waved but never falls.

On one day Robby stopped coming to our lessons. I thought about calling, but because of his inability, maybe he wants to pursue something else. I’m also glad he did not come again. He became a bad advertisement for my teaching!

Several weeks later, I send a brochure to each student, about the show that will be implemented. My surprise Robby (who also received a brochure) asked me if he could be in the show.

I told him that the recital was for current pupils and because he had dropped out he could not participate.

He said that his mom had been sick and unable to take him to piano lessons, but he was still practicing. “Bu Hondrof … I want to play!” he insisted.

I do not know what made me finally allow him to play in the recital. Perhaps because of persistence or maybe there is something inside of me saying that he’ll be fine.

Evening performances come. The hall was packed with parents, friends and relatives. I put Robby up last before I was to come to thank and play the last part. I think he made a mistake will happen at the end acaradan I can cover it with a game from me.

The show went off without a problem. Pupils had been practicing and it showed. Then Robby came up on panggung.Bajunya wrinkled and his hair whipped like new. “Why did not he dress like the other students?” I thought. “Why did she not brush her hair at least for tonight?”

Robby pulled out the piano bench and began. I was surprised when he stated that he had chosen Mozart’s Concerto # 21 in C Major. I can not prepare for mendengarnya.Jarinya mild in tone keys, and even danced nimbly. He moved from pianossimo to fortissimo .. . from allegro to virtuoso. His suspended chords that Mozart demands were magnificent! I never heard Mozart played the whole song he was that good!

After six and a half minutes he ended in a grand crescendo and everyone was on their feet in wild applause. In tears, I climbed onto the stage with joy and hugged Robby. “I’ve never heard you play like that Robby! How did you do?”

Through the microphone Robby said, “Mom Hondorf … remember I said that my mother is sick? Yes, actually she had cancer and she has passed away this morning. And actually … She was deaf since birth so this is the day she first heard my play. I want to make it special.

None of the dry eye that night. When people from Social Services led Robby from the stage to the maintenance room, I realized even though their eyes were red and swollen, how much richer my life for taking Robby as my pupil.

No, I never be a helper, but that night I became someone who helped Robby. He was the teachers and I am his disciple. Because it was he who taught me artiketekunan, love, believe in yourself, and even willing memberikesempatan to someone who you do not know why.

This event is more meaningful when, after playing in Desert Storm, Robby was killed by the senseless bombing of the Alfred P. Murrah Federal Building in Oklahoma in April 1995, when it was reported .. . he was playing the piano.

And now, an additional story. If you want to forward this email, you may be thinking, where in the list of addresses of people who do not “fit” to receive this message. The person who sent the email was confident that we can make changes. We all have thousands of opportunities every day to realize God’s plan. Lots of interaction between two people gives us a choice: Do we continue the divine spark? Or we let the occasion, and let the world gets colder in the process?

A friend multiplies joy and divides grief-whoever-

Leave a Reply for Novia

